Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-24-2005, 09:04 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Price is pretty dependant on size and features. For just a sump with the most water volume per $, just find the largest aquarium that will comfortably fit under your stand. If you tank already has an overflow and return drilled into it, all you would need is the hose/fittings and a return pump. If you plan on not needing the bioballs down the road, it would be a good idea to not get them to start.
__________________

__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 05:27 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N. CA
Posts: 738
Send a message via MSN to dr_girlfriend
So if you made a sump with an aquarium, would you have to add the different chambers like in the commercial ones?

My tank is drilled with an overflow.
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends, not food

We weep for the bird's cry, but not for the blood of a fish. Blessed are those who have voice.

Pinky: "What are those Brain?" (pointing to a group of people protesting)
Brain: "People without jobs Pinky."

N. California aquarium maintenance, scuba certification, and boat services.

Need computer services in N. California? Click here!
dr_girlfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 11:24 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Yes and no. It depends on what you want to use the sump for. If you just want the additional water volume and a place to put your heater, skimmer, etc. then you don't have to put in the chambers. The chambers in a commercial wet/dry are usually to keep the bio-balls in place so the filter works correctly. If you plan on putting macro in the sump, then chambering off the return pump would be a good idea, just to keep the algae out of the pump. You can get pretty complex designs depending on exactly what you want done. But often times a simpler design would function just as well. My current sump was a little overthought and it worked not so great. I made it simple and it works very well now.

If you decide you need to section off the sump, don't stress out about the difficulty. All it takes is some 1/8 or 1/4 inch plexi and some silicone. It's very easy to do and will save you a ton of money.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 06:19 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: illinois
Posts: 187
could you rplace the bio balls with liverock ruble to partially avoid the nitrate problem
__________________
pluk1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 08:41 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
That is the main reason. Think surface area. LR rubble has a lot more surface area for beneficial bacteria to grow on.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 04:19 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N. CA
Posts: 738
Send a message via MSN to dr_girlfriend
Ok, cool. I think I understand a little better now. Thanks for your help guys!
__________________
Fish are friends, not food

We weep for the bird's cry, but not for the blood of a fish. Blessed are those who have voice.

Pinky: "What are those Brain?" (pointing to a group of people protesting)
Brain: "People without jobs Pinky."

N. California aquarium maintenance, scuba certification, and boat services.

Need computer services in N. California? Click here!
dr_girlfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:48 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Lando,

I was looking at the pics of your sump set up in your gallery. I have a similar wet dry and plan on replacing the bioballs with LR rubble. The only question I have now is how do you clean the blue square foam filter in your sump, that your LR rubble is next to and on top of? I would think that you would have to move all the rubble in order to just get the filter block out to clean it.

Also how often do you clean this filter block?
__________________
Tlflan
Tlflan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Twice a year during a water change I remove al of the LR rubble and rinse out the sump. During this time I rinse the sponge in tank water to clean it.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 09:08 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N. CA
Posts: 738
Send a message via MSN to dr_girlfriend
Ok, new question regarding this filter. What model of skimmer do you guys recommend for it? LFS told me a few different models could fit in it, but I dont remember which ones (nor do I totally trust those recommendations )
__________________

__________________
Fish are friends, not food

We weep for the bird's cry, but not for the blood of a fish. Blessed are those who have voice.

Pinky: "What are those Brain?" (pointing to a group of people protesting)
Brain: "People without jobs Pinky."

N. California aquarium maintenance, scuba certification, and boat services.

Need computer services in N. California? Click here!
dr_girlfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dry, wet, wet/dry

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wet/dry manny09 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-02-2007 07:30 PM
Looking at a new wet/dry. GatorDrew Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-03-2006 04:26 PM
Wet/Dry hardparts2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-31-2004 08:24 PM
How much wet/dry is to much? 03shee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-26-2004 11:03 PM
Is there anyone out there who uses Wet/Dry instead of LR? PrettyFishies Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 03-17-2003 11:23 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.