Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2004, 05:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 112
what 2 do with a new filter

if i were to get a new filter do i have to put the new filters media in the tank to get bacteria on it first or just hang it on the back and put the old filters media in the tank so i wont lose anything.

sorry for all the questions guys ..i really have no idea of what to do

thanks
__________________

__________________
fish_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2004, 06:06 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
On established tanks I have put a new filter on and moved the old filter to a different tank, and did not use old media or anything - brand new media and filter - and did not have a bit of trouble with a bio-overload. The tank walls and decorations, etc. has plenty of bacteria, IME, to handle a completely new filter being put on and the old taken off.

If you have any concern, either run them both together for a couple of weeks or put the old media in the new filter for a while.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2004, 06:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton AB, Canada
Posts: 696
Send a message via MSN to Endgame319
Definately put the old media in it if possible.
__________________
Cam
Endgame319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 04:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 112
what do you consider an established tank?
__________________
fish_newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 04:49 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I would consider a tank that is at the very least 3 months old to be established. An "established" tank also implies stability, in that water change routines and cleaning schedules are maintained and the water parameters remain stable long-term.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 06:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 253
I agree with tankgirl. And if in doubt, run them both at the same time for a while.
__________________

__________________
docrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, new filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.