Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-08-2005, 09:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
What do you all think about this for connecting 2 tanks....

here is the idea I was thinking of, but someone else did it.

http://aquariacanada.com/forums/show...&threadid=7780

How do you all think that would work out? As long as I made the drain hole large enough I think it would work perfect.

opinions?
__________________

__________________
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 02:35 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
Not sure what you are talking about connecting 2 tanks together...dont see anything on that thread except a tank and sump??!
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 03:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
The overflow box in the tank with the tank drilled and a bulkhead in the tank. My orignal idea was just a hole and bulkhead and no overflow.
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 11:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chestermere canada eh
Posts: 429
?
__________________
i have crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 02:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
OK in my previous thread about connecting the two tanks I came up with this idea about drilling a hole in the top of the tank and just letting it drain always. Well new I have found this idea of putting a "box" around the hole like a overflow. That way it wont drain all the water out of the tank and it looks alot better than a normal overflow box.

Im wondering if anyone sees any potential problems I could see with this setup? I know on my last idea it seemed that the drain would drain to fast and always be at the point where the hole was.
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Not sure why you would want a ugly box taking up room in your tank if its not needed??
Bulkhead fittings need no box, you can add a plastic cover which are made for the fittings to stop things from going into the pipe and adding a elbow to the fitting can be used if you want to raise the level of the water in the tank.
All the water wont drain out of the tank, it will only go down as far as the bottom of the hole...
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 06:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 514
Send a message via AIM to Civicman86
So you think just using the bulkhead and a 90* fitting would be the best bet?
__________________
-Dustin

http://home.insightbb.com/~civicman86/FishSig.jpg
Pics and specs coming soon...
Civicman86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
ya... I have that type of set up on my 125, 55 and 20 tanks...
the 125 and 55 have 2 bulk heads in the upper corners with a nipple and elbow on that. Point it up and the water level raises and you can adjust the amount of water flow into the sump by twisting them up and down. That way you can get the flow rate you want. I have the plastic filter on the ends of the elbows so nothing gets into them to plug them up. not sure what the proper term is for the filter things...
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting tanks good or bad idea divedeep1689 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 19 08-15-2009 02:49 PM
Help with Connecting 2 Tanks Together Mr. Mantis DIY Projects 4 01-06-2009 09:24 AM
Revisiting the idea of connecting two tanks fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 03-07-2006 02:02 PM
Connecting 2 tanks Xzap Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-26-2005 12:24 PM
Connecting 2 sumps hitsnorth DIY Projects 5 12-17-2003 01:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.