Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2006, 12:23 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
What do you think of this?

http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...y_Code=Wonheat
The reason I am asking is, if you look at the "loose guidelines for this heater"
should I go with 2 100W or 2 200W?
Also, has anyone used this particular brand? The reviews are mixed....

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 578
It *seems* like a good idea, but frankly, i just don't trust things that I don't know about. I like the visitherms myself, or my newest toy, the Hydor ETH heater! I highly recommend that one.

As for the amount of heater wattage, what size tank do you have?
__________________

__________________
75g FW Planted Community; 55g African Cichlid
29g Biocube SW Reef;12g AP Mantis Shrimp/Brittle Star
2 Cats, 2 Dogs, 5 Turtles
MSU Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:26 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Hydor ETH heater looks pretty cool, but I would have to do some cutting on my output hose.
The visitherms don't come in titanium.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:32 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Western New York
Posts: 391
I'm done trying to sync two heaters in one tank. I could never get more than one to turn on.
After about 4 months I took the second one out,it was just to much trouble.

The next heater I get will be in-line.
__________________
TwoHobbies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 01:57 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
I'm done trying to sync two heaters in one tank.
I was under the impression they have internal thermometers and both don't really run all the time, is that incorrect?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 02:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Western New York
Posts: 391
Yes, thats correct...but why have two if only one ever runs?

I just couldn't get the temp set close enough so that when heat was needed both would turn on.
__________________
TwoHobbies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 02:12 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
but why have two if only one ever runs?
I believe most use two for redundancy, in the case of a failure...At least that is my intention.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 02:21 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Western New York
Posts: 391
I think most here recommend 5 watts per gallon, so you would want a 200, or 300 watt in that case.

My heaters also had internal controls which made the adjustments a pain. The two heater thing may be doable with external controls.
__________________
TwoHobbies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 03:41 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sorry MSU, I have a 55G.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2006, 11:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,108
Send a message via AIM to hc8719 Send a message via MSN to hc8719
really i dont think it could be that much better than another decent brand heater
__________________

__________________
"Atrocities are not less atrocities when they occur in laboratories and are called medical research."
George Bernard Shaw
hc8719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.