What is the best HOB filter?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sjsuper76

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have heard alot about bio wheels on this site, and alot about Aqua Clear filters. which one is a better HOB filter?

Aqua Clear hands down.

Filters with biowheels (such as the Marineland brand) are more gimmick and hassle.

This is just my opinion, but I have a lot of tanks, and experience with both kinds. They all work, but for HOB, give me an Aqua Clear any day.

I have thrown the biowheel componant out the filters I still have that use them.

If you have the space and the cash, cannisters are even better, especially on a 55 like yours. HOB will still work though.

I used to love Marineland with the Biowheels but honestly, Aquaclear does it in a much simpler method and their filters are def more quiet, only reason I'd get a Marineland bio-wheel filter is if I was buying a tank that had it built into the hood assembly (always loved it then!) You can also check out Cascade HOB, I've heard some people praise them even more than Aqua Clear, but both are great filters I used about 4 diff Aqua Clears and never had a problem with them

yeah when i have to get HOB itll be an aquaclear, so much room for any media, and adjustable flow.

Aquaclear definitely seems to be the way to go. The biggest AquaClear filter I can find online is an AquaClear 110 (rated for a 110 gallon) that moves 500 GPH.

If i get two AquaClear 110's (total 1,000 GPH) and I keep the existing undergravel filters (1140 x2) would that be enough filtration for a 120 gallon tank with about 18 cichlids/misc fish?

I know this thread is dinosaur but I just had to reply because this very thread led me to getting an Aqua Clear 50 for my 20 g tank a couple years back. My water has been crystal clear ever since

Fluval C series