Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-14-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
wherearepeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: boston MA
Posts: 48
what is the best media for a media reactor?

hey guys im going to be purchasing a media reactor in the future and im curious what people are using in them and how effective they are?
__________________

__________________
wherearepeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 11:58 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
What are you getting it for?

The media is specific to the function you are trying to achieve. Biological filtration, denitrification, carbon filtration, removing phosphate, adding calcium and alkalinity, special resin media filtration, etc all have different media.

On my reef I had a carbon reactor, GFO reactor, and purigen reactor all piggy backed together.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
wherearepeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: boston MA
Posts: 48
i would like to use it for phosphate reduction and i also want to run carbon is a media reactor the best way?
__________________
wherearepeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:22 AM   #4
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I got two, the water went through the one with carbon and then through the one with GFO (granular ferric oxide). Later I added the one with Purigen to really get it clean, but you don't have to. I used Rowa Phos as my GFO. The important thing is flow rate. You need enough flow for the media to move a little. Too little and it sits stagnant and you risk some toxic bacteria, too fast and the media moving around breaks apart like rocks in a rock tumbler.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 01:13 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I also have several reactors; GFO, GAC, and bio-pellets. I have teh pellets in a PhosBan reactor and use BulkReefSupply canister reactors for GFO and GAC.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 02:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
wherearepeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: boston MA
Posts: 48
what size would you guys reccomend for carbon gfo and bio pellets i have a 50 a twenty and a 90 all tied in the same line. and i plan on having a moderate bio load
__________________
wherearepeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:14 AM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I use Phosban Reactors, great design and much more affordable than most reactors I have seen. They have the regular size and recently came out with a very large one for larger systems. The regular one is supposed to be 'up to 150 gallons', that is the one I used for my three stage reactor chain on my 45. If you go with the smaller one you will have to replace the media more often. With the larger one you will not be replacing it as ofte, but it will cost a lot more when you do.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 01:26 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I have a Phosban 150, but prefer the bulk reef supply units for about the same money.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
wherearepeople's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: boston MA
Posts: 48
So im thinking about using two of these (AVAST Marine Works - MR-16 Media Reactor - Product Details) one to for carbon and one for gfo and running it inline with a turbo twist 6x. what flow rate would you recommend. and the uv sterilizer is a secondary priority and may only end up running for a portion of each day. so the main focus is for the reactors
__________________

__________________
wherearepeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
media, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CoraLazarus High Purity Calcium Media for Placement in Reef Aquarium Media Reactors - AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 07-13-2010 07:00 PM
NEW - Phos Ban Media Reactor 550 by Two Little Fishes AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 11-10-2009 08:34 AM
Phosphate reactor vs Fluval 405 Phos media? Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 23 01-06-2009 06:59 PM
Putting nitrate removal media in Reactor? Squado Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-14-2006 10:21 PM
What is the best media to use? RubixCube Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-22-2003 06:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.