Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-09-2007, 06:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
What is the difference between water pump and powerhead?

What is the difference between water pump and powerhead? Are they the same thing?

Can I use an AquaClear Powerhead outside tank and put it in tank stand and connect it with inlet and outlet tubes to the tank? Will it leak?
__________________

__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 08:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
Power heads and water pumps aren't necessarily the same thing. Power heads are designed to be used inside a tank and usually don't have any provision for connecting tubes except an airline. Pumps can be designed to run outside the tank or even inside a sump. From what you are talking about you need a real water pump.
__________________

__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 09:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
Thanks, gheitman. Can I use the powerhead in the tank and connect its outlet to a tube, which goes through an external CO2 mixter and another tube goes back from the mixer to tank?

The mixer is like this one,
http://cgi.ebay.com/Co2-Mixer-Large-...QQcmdZViewItem

Or, maybe connect the CO2 tube directly to the powerhead airline, but I guess this diffuse method is not efficient.
__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 11:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
I don't think the power head would work for you in this instance. It doesn't have the proper connections. The CO2 mixer looks like it is designed more to hook up to the output of a canister filter instead.
__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need an air pump or powerhead for my 75 gallon? niks93gt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-12-2006 02:27 AM
whats the difference between a waterfall pump and a normal krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 1 04-26-2005 06:56 PM
water pump? powerhead leesanhua Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-07-2005 12:16 PM
Powerhead / Pump Question -- for easier water changes... Spoon Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 01-22-2004 07:36 PM
What size Air Pump and Powerhead? newsalt DIY Projects 1 12-30-2003 09:25 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.