Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-18-2014, 11:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
What is this equipment used for?

I was looking online for a new protein skimmer for my sump and found reef octopus biopellet reactors and media reactors. What are these used for? What kind of media do you put in them? Do you use them in place of a skimmer or with the skimmer? Are they a good thing to have?
__________________

__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 01:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Reactors are secondary equipment. Used for various types of chemical filtration media such as activated carbon, granular ferric oxide, bio pellets/beads, etc...

Also there are reactors for keeping calcium levels in check.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 07:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
Would they be better than a canister filter? Right now I have a canister filter and a sump
__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 07:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cichlid-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,560
Why are you using a canister if you have a sump? If you keep using the canister make sure you clean it very often or nitrates will start to rise.
__________________
Cichlid-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 04:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
wrasse326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 216
The canister has been on it for a while. The sump is newer. I just kept it on because I figured it was needed because it's what has the carbon and everything where the sump just has algaes and rock.

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
wrasse326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
equipment

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
used used used and cycling JPKeenan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 08-18-2009 02:16 AM
Used equipment questions Yao General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-14-2006 11:24 PM
Used tank aquired Bio Reef 125 Gallon w/allot of equipment pentiumburner Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-11-2006 12:01 AM
Lots of used equipment, unsure what to do molotov256 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-07-2005 01:19 PM
Used Equipment fshy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-11-2004 03:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.