Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-18-2006, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
What to do with filter??

Hey everyone,

So my filter is back from repair - Fluval FX5.

My tank is doing very well with just the Coralife 220 super skimmer+powerheads, so I was trying to decide what to do with my filter. It adds about 8gal to the tank, so that's good at least. I was planning to put some carbon in it, but I didn't know what else to put. It's sealed so there won't be any light. Any recommendations on what would be good?
__________________

__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 05:51 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I would add LR rubble. Make sure you clean it at least once a month. I sounds like you have had it repaired before...? Do you know what the problem is? I haven't run carbon in mine for months.
Actually, if you go with 1.5-2Lbs of rock per gallon, you could ditch the filter.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 05:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Bought the filter about 2 months ago planning for chichlids

Filter broke after 1 month and now I just got it back.

25 lbs liverock, 125lbs of base rock, coralife 220 super skimmer.

I'm gonna use the filter because I have it so there's gotta be something good to put inside I don't think I can afford LR rubble - I have some media and stuff, is that recommended? base rock rubble with brown algae on it ok?
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:00 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yeah you could even use base rovk, the rubble/media are designed to have lots of surface area, to host the nitrifying bacteria. If you but the base rock with algae on it, that will kill the algae and you might get a spike. I would take some base rock, break it up and get the algae off of it and add it to the filter.
Why does it keep breaking? Have you asked?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Thanks, I will just take a bunch of base rock rubble or just smash up a big extra piece I guess =D. I'll remove the algae first too. I'll keep floss and some carbon there too to help clear the water (it's murky now since I haven't had any filter on since I added some livesand/100 lbs of baserock)

What about putting media in that looks like little gray stones? Or what I believe are "bio-balls"?

The filter was spewing bubbles into the tank... I sent it to Hagen and they fixed it apparently. No comment on what was wrong/fixed etc. I'll find out at the end of Decemeber when I go pick it up.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:18 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
What about putting media in that looks like little gray stones? Or what I believe are "bio-balls"?
Those sound like the ceramic rings. AFAIK, bio balls tend to be blue.
I get the bubbles after I clean it out, but they go away.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
What about putting media in that looks like little gray stones? Or what I believe are "bio-balls"?
Those sound like the ceramic rings. AFAIK, bio balls tend to be blue.
I get the bubbles after I clean it out, but they go away.
Yep they're most likely ceramic rings then... Am I better to put the little gray stones and ceramic rings in or empty with some base rock rubble?

Also - it spewed bubbles for days... I tried removing all media etc, but it never fixed. Air was definitely getting in somehow.
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:32 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I have the ceramic in mine, I hast don't have any base rubble right now. I tend to think, whatever has more surface area is your best bet. You could even mix the two.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
Also - it spewed bubbles for days... I tried removing all media etc, but it never fixed. Air was definitely getting in somehow.
Hmmm, I am curious now, see if you can get an anwser, there are a lot of folks that have been buying them and might have the same problem, and you will be able to help them (and me too, LOL!).
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:37 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
I have the ceramic in mine, I hast don't have any base rubble right now. I tend to think, whatever has more surface area is your best bet. You could even mix the two.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
Also - it spewed bubbles for days... I tried removing all media etc, but it never fixed. Air was definitely getting in somehow.
Hmmm, I am curious now, see if you can get an anwser, there are a lot of folks that have been buying them and might have the same problem, and you will be able to help them (and me too, LOL!).
I will do my best when I pick it up - the LFS knows nothing but I'll try to find a working order or something that I can contact Hagen about. I've read of other people having the same problem on forums. My filter would COMPLETELY fill my 120g with bubbles though... like zillions to the point you almost can't see.


It's unfortunate that I bought the filter before I knew I was doing SW but such is life - I'll make do with what I have.



I did have 1 more question. I could possibly get a 30-40g second tank and wondered if this could work.

30g tank on floor with water --> fluval FX5 intake --> fluval FX outputs into tank --> tank overflows to 30g = a refugium, handled by the Fluval FX5. My only concern is that the flow from the FX5 will be too great for the 30g to handle. I also don't know the details about how things like this work
__________________
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2006, 06:40 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GuOD
30g tank on floor with water --> fluval FX5 intake --> fluval FX outputs into tank --> tank overflows to 30g = a refugium, handled by the Fluval FX5. My only concern is that the flow from the FX5 will be too great for the 30g to handle. I also don't know the details about how things like this work
Does it have an adjustable flow? As for the DIY part, you may want to start another thread, in the DIY section. You should get some really good suggestions there.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filter vs. HOB filter for a planted tank fort384 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 02-02-2009 01:09 AM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
How to filter 200 gal. Would pond filter work? arowanaman420 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 11:05 PM
Small Internal power filter as a secondary filter chasgood General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 06-17-2004 01:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.