Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-24-2009, 03:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
juice28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma a few block away from O.U
Posts: 279
Question whats the deal with the emperor 400

I currently am running an emeperor 400 on my 47high tank, now ive heard some pretty basic, uninformative things about this set up so i figured id ask the pros! now i plan on adding a couple powerheds or i was actually going to get another emperor probaby the smaller 250. that should be close to 700 gph with the combo plus added filtration so this is my question/s

1. Is its sufficient for my tanks main source of filtration?

2. Is it a good product to use? Ive heard mixed reviews on biowheels

3. would the 2 on the tank be a good set up or add pwr head or switch it up all together?

4. how do you recomend cleanimg the filters or should i just discard them and buy brand new ones when that turn a little brown? (im talking about the blue pad filters not like filters that hold the carbon or whatever you put in them)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	18508   Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	18509  

__________________

__________________
I;m so deep that if water tried to listen then the rivers would sink...knowledge is power, get ya weight up!
juice28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 06:19 AM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 910
Send a message via AIM to MichaelsLilGray Send a message via Yahoo to MichaelsLilGray
Every tank i have has emperor 400's on it.. my 55 has one and a little walmart cheepy to keep circulation.. then my 125 has 2 400's... and a fruval 305. I love my biowheels. you also want to look at it this way.. 700gph is a 14.8% turnover... (turns over the water 14.8... 15% in an hour.. ususally you want to stay around 10%) It may be a little over kill.. but if the fish arnt struggling to stay in one spot.. that will be more than ample.
__________________

__________________
MichaelsLilGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 09:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
juice28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma a few block away from O.U
Posts: 279
ok thanks, I know I need good circulating for adding corals and its pretty ok but i see tanks with 3-4 big power heads and its like the wind is blowing in them lol my tank just has a little breeze.. i moved my pump(as you can see) on the side wel lactually i moved my rocks to the side and left the pump on the back but you get the point, i rearanged it so the rocks were not directly blocking my intakes for my pump which increased flow.. thanks
__________________
I;m so deep that if water tried to listen then the rivers would sink...knowledge is power, get ya weight up!
juice28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:30 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
You basically dont need the bio wheel. Proper amount of LR and a skimmer is basically all you need along with some frequent PWC`s. That`s all I had on my reef for 7 yrs.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 01:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
juice28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma a few block away from O.U
Posts: 279
wow that is the simplest thing i have heard, all ive been reading is get a sump and a protien skimmer and a ref. and an overflow and rodi/o and im like c'mon..seriously...with my tank, ayou ouldnt even see my tank with all that on and around it..have you seem my tank? im wondering if I need more rock im sure I do but the rule of poundage soesnt seem all that right to me, I have some rocks that are softball sized ut weight about6-7 lbs and i have a piece thats the size of a small long shaped watermellon that weighs about 10 so the ration of rock surface area compared to weight of the rock is vastly diferent. I usually get rocks by "size" instead of weight maybe im doing it wrong but that makes sense to me... why get 50 lbs of small dense round rocks that dont even take up a 1/4 of the tank when you get get 50 lbs of large porus rock that will take up 3/4 of the tank..
__________________
I;m so deep that if water tried to listen then the rivers would sink...knowledge is power, get ya weight up!
juice28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emperor 400 Diablos Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 02-07-2007 08:00 PM
Emperor 400? ksfishguy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-09-2006 11:45 PM
What's the deal with the Emperor 400...should I get one? zero2dash General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 01-02-2005 09:57 PM
emperor 400 dodgersfan25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-24-2004 10:46 PM
emperor 400 fesone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-14-2003 06:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.