Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-17-2012, 03:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Texas
Posts: 54
When to Treat New Water With Python?

So, I got tired of lugging buckets to change out my three tanks, and invested in a python. But I have to treat my tap water before putting in the tanks... my question is... knowing how many gallons I am taking out, do I pour the required treatment into the tank before I add the new water, and risk a too high concentration of conditioner until it is diluted... or do I refill the tank and then dump in the conditioner, and risk hurting the fish with untreated water??
What to do, what to do??? Python owners???? thanks for your input!!!
__________________

__________________
texaspepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 515
What I do with prime is dose for the entire volume of the tank, then fill it up using the python. So for my 29 gallon i use enough prime to treat 29 gallons, not just the amount I've removed.
__________________

__________________
Sake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Same here. I put in the prime for the whole tank then fill her up.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Dose the tank with prime then fill it up. Make sure you dose for the total amount of water.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sake
What I do with prime is dose for the entire volume of the tank, then fill it up using the python. So for my 29 gallon i use enough prime to treat 29 gallons, not just the amount I've removed.
^^^ This
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
LyndaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,816
I dose for only the amount of water I'm replacing and then refill with the python.
__________________
75: blood parrots, featherfin cat, emperor tetras, turquoise rainbowfish, BN plecos, japanese trapdoor; 46: WCMM, gold inca snails, ghost, bamboo & amano shrimp, kuhli loaches, rummynose & ember tetras, endlers, platies, flame gourami, guppies; 16: pygmy, peppered, loxozonus corys, otos, assassins, RCS ... ~ Research PRIOR to purchase.... ~
LyndaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:14 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161 View Post
Make sure you dose for the total amount of water.
Why? If you remove 10 gallons in a 30 gallon tank for example, you putting back in 10 gallons of water with chlorine, not 30.

I know it won't hurt anything to add more than needed. It's just a waste of money IMO. I've always added conditioner to replace only the water taken out.

I could maybe dosing for the whole tank if the condition you're using has slime coat in it, but I rarely use that. I've never had a fish get sick/stressed due to a water change and I don't handle the fish so no need for stress coat.
__________________
rastoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
LyndaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,816
From what I've seen in the various forums I belong to, it's really a 50/50 split as to those who dose for the tank volume and those who dose for the amount they are replacing.
__________________
75: blood parrots, featherfin cat, emperor tetras, turquoise rainbowfish, BN plecos, japanese trapdoor; 46: WCMM, gold inca snails, ghost, bamboo & amano shrimp, kuhli loaches, rummynose & ember tetras, endlers, platies, flame gourami, guppies; 16: pygmy, peppered, loxozonus corys, otos, assassins, RCS ... ~ Research PRIOR to purchase.... ~
LyndaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 09:36 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 515
I do it just because the bottle says so, that's the advice I've been given, and I always do more than required. If I have 3 gallons in my bucket, I'll dose for 5 gallons just to be safe. Always put a bit more in there than required.
__________________
Sake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 10:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by rastoma

Why? If you remove 10 gallons in a 30 gallon tank for example, you putting back in 10 gallons of water with chlorine, not 30.

I know it won't hurt anything to add more than needed. It's just a waste of money IMO. I've always added conditioner to replace only the water taken out.

I could maybe dosing for the whole tank if the condition you're using has slime coat in it, but I rarely use that. I've never had a fish get sick/stressed due to a water change and I don't handle the fish so no need for stress coat.
Because that's just how I've been doing it from day 1 and never had any issues and that's what the directions say. Not saying my way is better then someone else's or the directions from the company are spot on. But either way its not going hurt.

Just like you said. You've been doing it one way and I've been doing it another. Perfect example of 2 different ways working
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eat, python, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.