Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2005, 04:55 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
I had a penquin 330 on mine but I just recently opted for a Odyssea CFS4. I know it's a cheap knock off but so far it has worked great. You can't complain too much for a Cansiter filter with media that is only $60 delivered.
__________________

__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:57 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 7
Aquaclear all the way.
You can't beat customizable filter media.
__________________

__________________
The fishinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 07:05 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Whiteman AFB Missouri
Posts: 47
using a Filstar XP2 on my 50 and a cascade on my 29, some p.o.s. thing in the 10. Love the filstar and the cascade. I have to say that the way the tubing is connected on the cascade feels much more secure. The filstar says that you have to push the tube 2 inches on to the pieces, but barring KY, I dont know how you are going to do that. The cascade has large collars that screw down over the end of the lines to really secure 'em. Its all up to you in the end. Cascades are hard to fit in some tanks, the wand is really long. I like mine to flow the length of the tank so i like the filstar. good luck tho
__________________
29gal FW, Cascade 700-- busted during move...

10gal FW- quarantine tank
50gal FW- Filstar XP2- 2 gold rams/3 juli's, 3 paleatus/ 2 oto's/ 6 fancy guppies/ 5 ghost shrimp, mts.fish--6 Neon Gourami-2 Sunshine Gourami-10 Longfin Rosy Barbs-1 Chinese butterfly fish-1 kooli loach-1 red tail shark
10gal hosp, 29 gal island tank, 50 gal tree trunk tank.
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 07:12 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: las vegas
Posts: 109
Well right now I am leaning towards the Cascade 1000 over the fluval 404 simply because its $25 cheaper. Is the fluval worth an extra 25 bucks?
__________________
manooosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:03 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
That's totally up to you. If you were doing a planted tank, it would make a difference. For the record, this debate occurs each time someone asks about filtering, so don't be surprised about the number of different opinions.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:11 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I just don't like the Fluval's because of the look. They look so industrialized. The tubes look like something that you would find in a medical lab. That's the only thing that draws me away from them.

Just about every canister filter (if not all) has flexible media. Meaning that you can put whatever you want in it. I don't know of one that you can't. The Cascade tubes do feel very secure and sturdy. The top locks very tightly and is simple to setup. I even put mine together and can even maintain it. And I'm (I hate to say it) an idiot at things like that. But, again, I can't compare it to the Fluval since I've never used that brand.

As JC said, this debate happens ALL the time. And it's always a matter of personal preference and what is available to you.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:38 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chandler,Az
Posts: 288
Another good point with the Renas over the Fluvals is that the Renas have recessed handles to carry the filter to where you do the maintainance. The Fluvals have no handles and are quite smooth making it a little akward to carry when its full of water. I have no experience with the cascade so I don't know whether or not they have handles.
__________________
80 gallon FW:3 clown loaches, 2 angels, bloodfin tetras and 1 albino BN pleco,1 Farlowella.
46 gallon FW: kuhli loaches, otos, black neon and black phantom tetras, 3 pitbull plecos.
50 gallon SW: 1 green spotted puffer
penpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:44 PM   #28
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by penpitt
The Fluvals have no handles and are quite smooth making it a little akward to carry when its full of water.
Well, yes...very true, but the exercise does a body good.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 08:48 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: las vegas
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jchillin
That's totally up to you. If you were doing a planted tank, it would make a difference. For the record, this debate occurs each time someone asks about filtering, so don't be surprised about the number of different opinions.
Why is it better for plants? I do plan on having a couple of live plants eventually...
__________________
manooosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 09:06 PM   #30
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
For the planted tank, a canister works much better in terms of reduced surface agitation and CO2 retention. The fluval's design allows you to adjust the outflow to whatever level under the surface (submerged).

Of course, this discussion will also meet with other folks who have planted tanks and don't use the fluval, just other models of canisters. But in all honesty, the main point is having enough gph, water movement and a reliable machine that doesn't cause unnecessary problems.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, filter, ich, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about filter for 55G ManInAHat73 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 11-03-2009 02:29 PM
Recommended filter for 55g? Smitty General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 20 01-27-2009 03:58 PM
New 55g Tank MCluett Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-12-2008 05:07 PM
Quiet filter for my 55g and 10g? manoosie General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 11-27-2005 11:14 PM
Correct filter for a 55g kane65 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-15-2004 01:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.