Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-19-2010, 09:17 PM   #21
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
I have marineland 350's on all my tanks and love them. It would be a little overkill for a 10g, but I run one on my 29G fry tank and it works great and the water is crystal clear.
Hey Spoon!

What part of Vegas are you in? I'm in Henderson!

As for the "overkill for a 10 gallon" suggestion, I actually have a 60...

Would this be good over an AquaClear?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 09:45 PM   #22
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Honestly, whether you focus just on money or on the cleaning ability adding an AC is a good option. It is cheaper to run the ACs since you do not have to replace the media (except for carbon if you use it). The media for those other filters will add up fast and will pay for a brand new AC110.
If you really want to stick with the others just keep the AC110 in mind.

If there was another filter to consider someone would mention it. IME the debate for best HOB always ends with AC, sometimes a Biowheel lover will chime in and refuse to quit, but the ACs are the top pick of most hobbyists.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:58 AM   #23
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Honestly, whether you focus just on money or on the cleaning ability adding an AC is a good option. It is cheaper to run the ACs since you do not have to replace the media (except for carbon if you use it). The media for those other filters will add up fast and will pay for a brand new AC110.
If you really want to stick with the others just keep the AC110 in mind.

If there was another filter to consider someone would mention it. IME the debate for best HOB always ends with AC, sometimes a Biowheel lover will chime in and refuse to quit, but the ACs are the top pick of most hobbyists.
Thanks Fish,

Indeed I see that the AquaClears are always recommended by the hobbyists; I am just uncertain of a couple of things now...

Should I replace the Aqueons completely now that I noticed some kind of bacterial growth (as far as I can recognize) on their biogrids?

And, do I need to worry about the AquaClears' intake strainer sucking my goldfish in?

Could you also explain to me why the AquaClears don't have to have their media changed (unless I misunderstood you)?

Thanks.
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 07:11 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
no, leave the aqueons on your tank right now so you dont stop or have to restart the cycle. when/if you get an aqua clear just run that on your tank with the aqueon for about a month so that bacteria can colonize it. then you can take the aqueon off.

you only replace the media in the aqua clear when/if it's falling apart or used up if activated carbon. other wise you just rinse it out in the used tank water when you do a pwc. i dont use the carbon in mine unless i need to remove medication so i added some bonded filter floss for more biological filtering capacity.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 06:27 PM   #25
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishEggs View Post
no, leave the aqueons on your tank right now so you dont stop or have to restart the cycle. when/if you get an aqua clear just run that on your tank with the aqueon for about a month so that bacteria can colonize it. then you can take the aqueon off.
Okay.

Quote:
you only replace the media in the aqua clear when/if it's falling apart or used up if activated carbon. other wise you just rinse it out in the used tank water when you do a pwc. i dont use the carbon in mine unless i need to remove medication so i added some bonded filter floss for more biological filtering capacity.
So, pretty much, if I use the supplied three-level/layer media that comes in the box, those elements never need to be changed or replaced? The sponge-like pads, etc?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 06:37 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Webster, NY
Posts: 59
I have 2 Marineland Penguin 350B filters on my 55g... no problems at all with water quality or cloudyness. I wont buy anything else.
__________________
Coyote5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:32 PM   #27
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote5 View Post
I have 2 Marineland Penguin 350B filters on my 55g... no problems at all with water quality or cloudyness. I wont buy anything else.
Thanks for the input, Coyote; indeed, it seems we have a vote here for the Marinelands...

Why do you like them so much? Can you give me some insight as to why you prefer them over the AquaClears?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 10:23 PM   #28
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Have you also used AquaClears or just the Marinelands?

You do need to replace carbon (which comes with a new AC) but not the biomedia or the foam block.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:02 AM   #29
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Have you also used AquaClears or just the Marinelands?
Are you referring to me or Coyote?

Quote:
You do need to replace carbon (which comes with a new AC) but not the biomedia or the foam block.
Oh, okay...
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:50 AM   #30
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Coyote, have you used AquaClears or just like your Marinelands?
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hob, ich, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pick ups melosu58 New Acquisitions 14 03-09-2010 07:38 PM
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
Help me pick out my new tank TheChad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-29-2008 03:11 PM
Switching from HOB to canister. time before I can remove HOB turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-27-2007 03:29 PM
How to pick the best LR eb0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-20-2004 11:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.