Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-07-2010, 04:04 AM   #41
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Hi Again Guys,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to this thread; for some reason, I had not received a message stating I got any more replies...

I seemed to have learned the hard way that what manufacturers claim on their packaging regarding their filters is pretty much useless, as FishGuy explained...it appears that my Aqueon QuietFlow "55" is not really filtering anything remotely useful in my 60-gallon, and neither is the "20" model I bought just to supplement the larger 55.

At this point, because the water in my tank has become horiffically cloudy yet again, I am beginning to lose all hope in these Aqueons, and ready to begin moving to something a lot more powerful...

What about the specifications regarding the AquaClear 110...are these hogwash too in terms of what they'll filter? Would one 110 be okay on my 60-gallon?
__________________

__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 07:23 AM   #42
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
An AquaClear 110 and some water changes should get you back on track.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 02:10 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishEggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 2,211
i had just an AC70 on a 75g for sometime and it kept the water just fine.
__________________
~Matt~
If you put off what you can do today until tomorrow it will never get done cause tomorrow never comes. It's always today.
FishEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 04:48 PM   #44
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
An AquaClear 110 and some water changes should get you back on track.
Thanks Fish...

Would you recommend just one AquaClear along with my Aqueon 55? Would that be sufficient filtration at this point, do you think?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 05:57 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Palm Bay Fl
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via Yahoo to oscarbreeder
If you have the money you could go with a canister filter. I have a Fluval 404 on my 55 gal. and it does a GREAT job! I'll never run a hang on back filter again.
__________________
Please remember to vote for Aquarium Advice!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v328/kyman_33/sig.jpg
oscarbreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 06:20 PM   #46
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I would start with just one AC110, but if the tank proves it needs a little more I would do a second AC110.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 09:06 PM   #47
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
I would start with just one AC110, but if the tank proves it needs a little more I would do a second AC110.
How would I know if it needed a little more? Return of the cloudy water and such?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 09:27 PM   #48
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Exactly. If you have enough mechanical filtration the water will be clear. If you have enough biological filtration the ammonia and nitrite will always be 0 (after it is cycled), and you have enough flow if there are no to only a few small piles of debris.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2010, 09:32 PM   #49
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishguy2727 View Post
Exactly. If you have enough mechanical filtration the water will be clear. If you have enough biological filtration the ammonia and nitrite will always be 0 (after it is cycled), and you have enough flow if there are no to only a few small piles of debris.
Thanks, Fish.

In the event the water returns to this state of cloudiness and haze with the one AquaClear, are you suggesting I then get a second 110 to replace the Aqueon with?
__________________
Osage_Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:06 AM   #50
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Yes.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hob, ich, ick

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Pick ups melosu58 New Acquisitions 14 03-09-2010 07:38 PM
Need Advice... HOB Skimmer and HOB Filter ferchoz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-15-2009 04:35 PM
Help me pick out my new tank TheChad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-29-2008 03:11 PM
Switching from HOB to canister. time before I can remove HOB turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-27-2007 03:29 PM
How to pick the best LR eb0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-20-2004 11:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.