Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-06-2006, 03:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
which tunze?

Hey,

Setting up a 5x2x2 mixed reef, just wanted to get some opinions on some tunze pumps. don't necessarily need the controllable ones, so would you recommend 2 tunze 6080's, or would 2 tunze 6060's be enough.

Also, does having them in the Tunze rocks make the pump louder?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
bonnie3188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:23 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Since you aren't looking to control your ph instead of dropping $160+ on the Tunze pumps I'd look at the Seio pump also or look at modifiying a Maxi-Jet 1200 to give you 2000+ GPH which would run around $40-50 for pump and kit. (video of mod here)

If you're dead set on the Tunze pump then personally I wouldn't even consider spending that much money and not at least have the option of being able to control them. The Tunze turbelle 6000 is the lowest model that is controllable.

I can't imagine why putting the pump in a rock would make it louder but I'd rather spend the $75 on real base or lr versus the fake rock.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
Thanks for the reply

I am pretty set on getting Tunze pumps as i like the wide flow, and i like it that they can be concealed in the tunze rocks. i constantly fight a battle with snails on my pumps leading to very loud vibrations.

So basically i'm after a pump that is going to be reliable and last me for many years. money isn't reallu an issue and i have plenty of live rock already, so the tunze rock is purely cosmetic. And i'm faced with a limited range here in australia.

So yeah, for a 5x2x2 LPS and SPS reef, 2 x tunze 6060's or 2 x 6080's??

Thanks
__________________
bonnie3188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 186
I would get the 6060's. They are the most efficient (gph produced/watt used) of the Tunze's. Plus, I use one 6060 on my 2' x 2' x 4' reef and it is plenty powerful.
__________________
http://www.macna2007.com
Steven Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:39 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I agree 2 6060 pumps would be more then enough. How large is the sump and what pump (GPH) were you planing on using?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
Thanks again everyone

The sump is going to be a 4x18x18, undecided about a return pump yet, i'll see what the tank builder suggests. any suggestions on a gpl for the return?

Yeah i think i'll go with a pair of the 6060's though
__________________
bonnie3188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:21 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I'd aim for 800-1200 GPH in the sump. A little more if you have drilled overflows which are easier to control noise. What are your overflows rated at?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:36 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 40
The overflow is going to be drilled, but not sure what the flow will be rated at. i'll have to find out from the tank builder this week. But thanks again Tecwzrd for helping me with the tunze decision.

I'm sure i'll be asking many more questions in the coming weeks
__________________
bonnie3188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:40 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
I'd look at installing a durso stand pipe to reduce noise since it's drilled.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ich, tunze

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tunze ATO partypalooza5 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-22-2009 04:37 PM
Tunze 9005 coolhud General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 04-10-2009 02:43 PM
Tunze Wavebox weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-07-2006 11:59 PM
Tunze Powerheads Thumper General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 03-09-2005 08:38 PM
Tunze Osmolator c-bass Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 11-15-2003 09:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.