Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2009, 08:44 PM   #11
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
mary, if its leaking where it plugs in, its really easy to actually take off the motor, make sure the o-ring is on right, or maybe it just needs pushed back up in to the filter body better... i used to have one and mine did that occasionally
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 08:52 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: yoder co
Posts: 13
I have air stones in the tubes. No other filter unit has been used with the ugf. I'd like to leave in the ugf and just hook up another one with it. Would that be okay to do?
Thanks Mary
__________________

__________________
mary50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 08:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCrazyBenBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Where ever the flow go
Posts: 2,577
You don't have to hook up another filter to it, which seems like thats what your stuck on. You can just run another HOB filter, or internal filter with it, but not actually hooked up with it. There are also people that hook up Power heads to UG filters for extra power, but yet again I strongly suggest just getting rid of your UG filter.
__________________
FishCrazyBenBOMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:08 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
Leave the ug filter alone for now. It's your tanks bio filter. I would get the hob filter you have running on the tank with the ug or get a new hob and have that run with the ug for 4-6 weeks until it is well established. Then you can decide if you want to take out the ug filter or not.
Do regular water changes and test your tank water for ammonia and nitrites to make sure that's not what killed your other fish.

P.S> go lite on the feedings until your filtration gets better.
__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:15 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
FishCrazyBenBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Where ever the flow go
Posts: 2,577
I'm just saying you need to look into getting rid of it in the near future. They are inefficient. They just pile up waste underneath your gravel until you use a gravel vac to get it out. All that waste just blends in with your water and is not good for your fish. Power filters, canister filters, and HOB internal filters all have stages the waste goes through to produce cleaner water.

Yes leave it alone for now and get a different kind of filter running on that tank as soon as you possible can. Once your new filter as been running for about a month, remove the UG filter.
__________________
FishCrazyBenBOMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:22 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: yoder co
Posts: 13
Another question. I,ve seen the power heads and was wondering if I added those to the tubes on my ugf unit would I still want to hook up another filter unit? I'm not sure how they work but it says to be used with the ugf. And would I want two of them or just one? Since I have a 30 gallon tank would I get two 15 to total 30 or get two 30's? I just don't want to lose the three fish I have left. I plan to get more fish once I get the filter decision answered.
Thanks Mary
__________________
mary50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:33 PM   #17
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
i think youre making this too difficult for yourself. what makes you so sure that the ugf is the reason your fish are dead? Ive not seen your water parameters listed, can you provide those?
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:43 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: yoder co
Posts: 13
according to the dip stick test
nitrate 40
nitrites .5
soft water
alk 80
also use the ph test which is 7.8
__________________
mary50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:48 PM   #19
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
is there any way you can take a sample of your water to your lfs and have them test it? since test strips are innacurate at best, its hard to say whether the nitrite reading is accurate, also hard to say without an ammonia reading. i would suggest doing a few 50% pwc's and seeing what happens... if the ugf has worked for you this far, it could be something else causing the fish deaths... jmo
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:48 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquarium1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 8,617
Send a message via Skype™ to Aquarium1
really you shouldn't have any nitrites, also those dip tests are inaccurate. Its best if you could get a liquid test kit, and as soon as possible.
__________________

Aquarium1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, whisper

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whisper filter shayfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 04-27-2007 03:24 AM
Crushed whisper filter screen! DugOut Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 11-04-2005 09:57 PM
whisper 10 poer filter? 2k2ss General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-17-2005 07:45 AM
whisper 5-15 power filter Wes910 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 04-30-2004 11:52 AM
Powerhead vs Whisper filter robertmarda General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 02-01-2003 04:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.