Why are people obsessed with Prime?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Avocado Man

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've never used Seachem Prime before, but people seem to love it. I currently use API tap water dechlorinator (gets rid of chlorine, chloramine, and heavy metals), and it still works even though I've had the bottle for 2 years.

When I run out, I'm tempted to switch to Prime but am wary of falling prey to hype. To me, it seems like a water conditioner either does or does not do its job...it's hard to imagine one doing a great job.

But here's where I leave it to you all. I'm not expecting evidence of its superiority through randomized control trials or anything, but why do you like it (or not)? Why is it better than other dechlorinators out there (or not)?

Thanks!:popcorn:

I've never used Seachem Prime before, but people seem to love it. I currently use API tap water dechlorinator (gets rid of chlorine, chloramine, and heavy metals), and it still works even though I've had the bottle for 2 years.

When I run out, I'm tempted to switch to Prime but am wary of falling prey to hype. To me, it seems like a water conditioner either does or does not do its job...it's hard to imagine one doing a great job.

But here's where I leave it to you all. I'm not expecting evidence of its superiority through randomized control trials or anything, but why do you like it (or not)? Why is it better than other dechlorinators out there (or not)?

Thanks!:popcorn:

There is just a favoritism towards the seachem line because all of their products do exactly what they say. They make high quality products, prime is just one of them. API is another good brand, I've used their dechlorinator as well.