Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-21-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Why are people obsessed with Prime?

I've never used Seachem Prime before, but people seem to love it. I currently use API tap water dechlorinator (gets rid of chlorine, chloramine, and heavy metals), and it still works even though I've had the bottle for 2 years.

When I run out, I'm tempted to switch to Prime but am wary of falling prey to hype. To me, it seems like a water conditioner either does or does not do its job...it's hard to imagine one doing a great job.

But here's where I leave it to you all. I'm not expecting evidence of its superiority through randomized control trials or anything, but why do you like it (or not)? Why is it better than other dechlorinators out there (or not)?

Thanks!

Old 08-21-2013, 03:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avocado Man View Post
I've never used Seachem Prime before, but people seem to love it. I currently use API tap water dechlorinator (gets rid of chlorine, chloramine, and heavy metals), and it still works even though I've had the bottle for 2 years.

When I run out, I'm tempted to switch to Prime but am wary of falling prey to hype. To me, it seems like a water conditioner either does or does not do its job...it's hard to imagine one doing a great job.

But here's where I leave it to you all. I'm not expecting evidence of its superiority through randomized control trials or anything, but why do you like it (or not)? Why is it better than other dechlorinators out there (or not)?

Thanks!