Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-08-2013, 02:24 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bmckee727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennyrw View Post

The larger pipe would only Come into play if the discharge pipe is to small to accommodate the maximum rated flow rate
That's what I was thinking, and then you would have a whirlpool in your tank and an embolism in your hose.
__________________

__________________
bmckee727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 03:15 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
I don't know what that means, but it doesn't sound good! I don't know whether it matters, but the pumps are identical. Only the media will differ.
__________________

__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 05:29 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bmckee727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post
I don't know what that means, but it doesn't sound good! I don't know whether it matters, but the pumps are identical. Only the media will differ.
I meant discharge too small it will create an embolism, ( being sarcastic, a balloon in the line resulting in thinned lines). Basically I think it would build back pressure .
__________________
bmckee727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 05:31 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bmckee727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post
I don't know what that means, but it doesn't sound good! I don't know whether it matters, but the pumps are identical. Only the media will differ.
But I know you know, what I was getting at
__________________
bmckee727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:21 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmckee727 View Post

I meant discharge too small it will create an embolism, ( being sarcastic, a balloon in the line resulting in thinned lines). Basically I think it would build back pressure .
So even though the filters are the same size, the 2nd filter would need a bigger output hose than the intake hose on the first? If that's the case I'll give it a miss :-(
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bmckee727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post

So even though the filters are the same size, the 2nd filter would need a bigger output hose than the intake hose on the first? If that's the case I'll give it a miss :-(
I wish I had an answer it is an interesting subject and I'm sure it can and has been ran before but I'm just guessing and trying to see any potential problems. I honestly don't know
__________________
bmckee727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:14 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bmckee727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmckee727 View Post

That's what I was thinking, and then you would have a whirlpool in your tank and an embolism in your hose.
Sorry meant aneurism
__________________
bmckee727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:26 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 380
From what I've read I wouldn't recommend that. They both need to be gravity fed, and you'll be pumping the water into the second. And media, dirt, or even mechanics will change the flow rates. Even if they're exactly the same, one might pump little slower/faster right out the factory. Just my $.02
__________________
gravereaper0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:21 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by gravereaper0 View Post
From what I've read I wouldn't recommend that. They both need to be gravity fed, and you'll be pumping the water into the second. And media, dirt, or even mechanics will change the flow rates. Even if they're exactly the same, one might pump little slower/faster right out the factory. Just my $.02
Oh well. Back to the drawing board :-(
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:42 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 39
I've tried this before.Your best bet is to remove the impeller and NOT plug in the filter that the water will go through first.Using both motors just doesn't work well.This makes for a very good biological filter and will work well,the draw back will be is if the filter the first one will be able to be opened and cleaned easily.Keeping it clean and leaving your second filter closed will help keeping your good bacteria strong.Although if a disease breaks out you have to tear them both apart and clean.I'll advise as others to use the both independently.For me this is the fun part about aquarium keeping is building and tring your own ideas.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.