Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-09-2013, 06:47 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnie05 View Post
I've tried this before.Your best bet is to remove the impeller and NOT plug in the filter that the water will go through first.Using both motors just doesn't work well.This makes for a very good biological filter and will work well,the draw back will be is if the filter the first one will be able to be opened and cleaned easily.Keeping it clean and leaving your second filter closed will help keeping your good bacteria strong.Although if a disease breaks out you have to tear them both apart and clean.I'll advise as others to use the both independently.For me this is the fun part about aquarium keeping is building and tring your own ideas.
Hmmmm..... Food for thought! How long did you run that setup?
__________________

__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:11 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 39
I hadf it like that for a little over a year.Worked pretty good,Just didn't think it was practical having to break down first filter and clean.I still have the same second filter in use as a biological still and it has not been opened since I started using it almost three years ago.Instead of the first filter I now use a modified to fit easy to clean sponge filter.When flow slows its time to rinse the sponge.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:26 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronnie05 View Post
I hadf it like that for a little over a year.Worked pretty good,Just didn't think it was practical having to break down first filter and clean.I still have the same second filter in use as a biological still and it has not been opened since I started using it almost three years ago.Instead of the first filter I now use a modified to fit easy to clean sponge filter.When flow slows its time to rinse the sponge.
I have very poopy fish- I'm lucky to 3 months without cleaning my canisters, I can't imagine the state they'd be in after 3 years! Lol
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:06 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
spiketooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Okinawa Japan
Posts: 950
I see this working, thinking if i would try something like this i would make the first canister higher then the second once and not have the first one pluged in. This will allow gravity to help move the water if this makes any sense
__________________

__________________
spiketooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.