Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-29-2007, 04:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Would it be possible?

I have PC's in my current setup. Would it be possible to add T-6's to the current setup i have?
__________________

__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:06 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Anyone?
__________________

__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:19 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
T5s? I have not heard of T6s, I have heard of T5, T8 and T10s...
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 02:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
I saw some bulbs labeled T-6 at my local HD. Either way, lets say i wanted to add T-5 to my current PC setup. What would be the effects of this if any?
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 03:05 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I'm not sure if I understand the question, but here it goes.
You will have more wattage and you could have different spectrums of color, does that help?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 03:19 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I've never seen anyone use T6 over their aquarium either, but have noticed it becoming more popular on the net (and ebay) for aquarium lighting. Supposedly like a T5, but cheaper. I dunno. Regardless, T5's are more powerful than PC bulbs, so the added light would be great.

To get the full benefit of T5, look for a High Output ballast/system and a system with individual reflectors vs. the single reflector. Without a HO T5 system, I'd say the effect on your tank would be minimal. If you can find a T5 HO system to add to your tank, it would increase your coral options for sure I'd imagine. T5 also penetrates deeper than PC bulbs, which is nice.

HTH
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 08:41 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to artoledo Send a message via MSN to artoledo Send a message via Yahoo to artoledo
Ok. Maybe I will post my PC's on craigslist and maybe i will go for 4 T5's.
__________________
If it doesn't work, use a Hammer.

-----Armando-----
artoledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:00 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Cool. I have the 4x39 HO T5 Nova Extreme Fixture and am happily keeping sps under it.

I love T5.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 10:34 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
PCFs are basically bent T5s, so swapping them for staright tubes may not have any benefit at all.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 03:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
I have the 6 bulb T-5's over my 90gl and I love them.
__________________

__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.