Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-03-2013, 11:42 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
You Know What Bugs Me?

...the fact that the tank package I purchased some five or so months ago -- the Marineland 60 Gallon "Heartland Ensemble" -- actually comes equipped with dual hoods that DON'T allow proper fitting for Marineland's OWN recommended HOB filters for this aquarium...

From all reports I've read online, the Emperor I believe it is filter that Marineland suggests (of course, because the tank was made by them too ) for this setup won't allow the hood lights to be able to be accessed, requiring DIY relocating of the switches or going with other filters altogether -- for what it's worth, I already had an Aqueon QuietFlow 55 and AquaClear 110 from a previous setup that cracked and leaked, so I didn't need new filters...but my question is this:

Is it, essentially, okay to use a different-branded filter than the brand that's attached to my tank? In other words, no one HAS to use a Marineland filter on a Marineland tank, right?
__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
bmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post
...the fact that the tank package I purchased some five or so months ago -- the Marineland 60 Gallon "Heartland Ensemble" -- actually comes equipped with dual hoods that DON'T allow proper fitting for Marineland's OWN recommended HOB filters for this aquarium...

From all reports I've read online, the Emperor I believe it is filter that Marineland suggests (of course, because the tank was made by them too ) for this setup won't allow the hood lights to be able to be accessed, requiring DIY relocating of the switches or going with other filters altogether -- for what it's worth, I already had an Aqueon QuietFlow 55 and AquaClear 110 from a previous setup that cracked and leaked, so I didn't need new filters...but my question is this:

Is it, essentially, okay to use a different-branded filter than the brand that's attached to my tank? In other words, no one HAS to use a Marineland filter on a Marineland tank, right?
Thats really annoying that it doesnt fit :P! And to answer your question, you can use any filter on your tank! If you buy a marineland tank, you definitely don't need to use their filters! Just use the 2 filters that you already own, they will provide excellent filtration for it!
__________________

__________________
bmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:55 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmarine View Post
Thats really annoying that it doesnt fit :P! And to answer your question, you can use any filter on your tank! If you buy a marineland tank, you definitely don't need to use their filters! Just use the 2 filters that you already own, they will provide excellent filtration for it!
Hello 'marine and thank you very much for the prompt reply.

Indeed, take a look at these reports from owners of this package when you get a chance to see what I'm talking about with regard to the filters not "fitting":


60 Gallon Aquarium » Marineland® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble | PetSmart

As for me, I actually wasn't planning on getting any Marineland "recommended" filters because I already had the Aqueon and Hagen AquaClears...but I was just wondering if it was "okay" that I'm not running the same brand of filters as the brand that makes the tank...which I think you answered for me...
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
bmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post

Hello 'marine and thank you very much for the prompt reply.

Indeed, take a look at these reports from owners of this package when you get a chance to see what I'm talking about with regard to the filters not "fitting":

60 Gallon Aquarium » Marineland® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble | PetSmart

As for me, I actually wasn't planning on getting any Marineland "recommended" filters because I already had the Aqueon and Hagen AquaClears...but I was just wondering if it was "okay" that I'm not running the same brand of filters as the brand that makes the tank...which I think you answered for me...
Well thats actually kind of pitiful that they recommended a filter and it doesn't even fit :p! And yup its definitely fine, all my tanks have filters that are different brands than the tank themselves So its all good! It's really just your personal preference on what filter you like, get any filter you want and don't worry about the tank brand.
__________________
bmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:18 AM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Thank You!!
__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
No worries about using different brands. However, you would think marineland would have optimized their hood to make sure their filter would fit better than any other brand. Seems like a bit of a design flaw if you ask me! I have marineland filters on two tanks of unknown brand. Actually, I had to modify one of the filters to fit on my 56 gallon as the filter is wider than the openings on either side of the center brace.
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:33 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
bmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtesiaWells View Post
Thank You!!
Yup anytime!
__________________
bmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 04:57 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alyxx View Post
No worries about using different brands.
Thanks Al...

Quote:
However, you would think marineland would have optimized their hood to make sure their filter would fit better than any other brand. Seems like a bit of a design flaw if you ask me! I have marineland filters on two tanks of unknown brand. Actually, I had to modify one of the filters to fit on my 56 gallon as the filter is wider than the openings on either side of the center brace.
My sentiments exactly regarding the Marineland filters not being able to fit in these hoods; here, take a look at some of these owner's comments that discuss the "alterations" that had to be made on these hoods:

60 Gallon Aquarium » Marineland® 60 Gallon Heartland Aquarium Ensemble | PetSmart

__________________

__________________
ArtesiaWells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.