55 Gallon Community Tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Earlybird

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
This is my first attempt at setting up a tank. In hindsight I wish it were
planted. How difficult would it be to eventually covert to live?

Attachments

• 55gal.jpg
    55gal.jpg
    253.3 KB · Views: 338

Let me tell you something, Early -- looking at this tank of yours, I can honestly say you DO NOT need to convert to live plants! I WISH I could make my 60 gallon artificially planted tank look like yours! Amazing work!

I have many of the same taller green plants you have in your tank as well, in addition to similar "natural" colored gravel/pebbles, and instead of really making a "design" as you did with yours, I simply stuffed them into the corners because they were "tall"...my tank looks NOTHING like yours, and yours is what a lot of folks doing an "artificial-but-real-looking" design should strive for, IMO...(y)

Thank you for the kind words. My wife helped design the layout(y)
It's been a fun hobby for the whole family. My 6 year old daughter
loves to assist with water changes and feeding time!

I agree with everyone else - it looks great as it is. A little forethought and planning go a long way. :)

I changed my 50 gallon to sand and plants in December, and it wasn't too tough.
I moved the fish to a few buckets while i swapped the substrate. Once that was done i bought a bunch of plants (research online and talking to intelligent shop employees helped). I arranged them how I thought they'd look best and not get in the way of others' growing. Then added some fertilizer tabs, and that was it.