Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-15-2013, 11:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FreshwaterSean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 82
Biocube 29

Does anyone know how to setup a biocube 29 freshwater? The previous owner had a saltwater setup and removed the protein skimmer and filters. It has the pump and heater but no filter media.
I was told that I could throw in the carbon packs, or in my case Chemipure, right into the 1st and 2nd compartments but it appears that there is no "grating" to keep it from going all the way to the bottom.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
FreshwaterSean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreshwaterSean View Post
Does anyone know how to setup a biocube 29 freshwater? The previous owner had a saltwater setup and removed the protein skimmer and filters. It has the pump and heater but no filter media.
I was told that I could throw in the carbon packs, or in my case Chemipure, right into the 1st and 2nd compartments but it appears that there is no "grating" to keep it from going all the way to the bottom.
Thanks!
Can you post a picture so we can see how it's set up? Does it have any pre-sponges? If not you'll want to get some 100% Polyfill for the first compartment water passes through. You also need bio-media but somewhere in there. Then if there is room you can use a Purgen or similar.

Is this going to be a planted tank or fish only?
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 08:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FreshwaterSean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 82
There is a sponge in the last compartment at the pump inlet. The first compartment is typically where the media goes I think, the second I was told is used for plants.
This will be fish only, no plans for live plants yet. I will post some pictures once I get it all waned out.
__________________
FreshwaterSean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.