Freshwater beginner 55 gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Poletap

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the game and had some questions. I am trying to create a lake theme and seek advice on some catfish that don't get too big and compatible tankmates that resemble fish you'd see in the lake. I just filled the tank this weekend and currently trying to cycle the tank with some tinfoil barbs.

Attachments

• image-1587822129.jpg
    image-1587822129.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 133
  • image-3392615831.jpg
    image-3392615831.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 144
Welcome to AA! It's quite pretty with the moon lights. I like it! So you are fish in cycling with tinfoil barbs. What kind of cat fish are you looking into getting? Are you wanting one larger one or a school of smaller ones. I'm quite a fan of cories and bristlenoses. :)

Poletap said:
I am new to the game and had some questions. I am trying to create a lake theme and seek advice on some catfish that don't get too big and compatible tankmates that resemble fish you'd see in the lake. I just filled the tank this weekend and currently trying to cycle the tank with some tinfoil barbs.

Very nice tank, it looks fantastic!

I was interested in a cat species that don't get too big (about the 6" range) but big enough to hang with slightly aggressive cichlids. I've seen some that resemble perch at a glance (jack dempseys for example). More fishing pond than tropical or vivid.

I am wanting a small school of cats but not opposed to slightly different ones if that's not a bad idea.

Peaceful Tankmates

Hello Pole...