New to saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ghostking010

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone i am new to saltwater i wanna start a 55 gallon thats currently a african cichlid tank but ive bin in that game for a wile and looking to switch to salt now i thought it be cool if someone on here can make me a shopping list for the things i need as in filter to decor to fish and substrate all under budget that would be great im so looking forward to this thanks

Well what's your budget? My advice is to buy the best equipment you can afford. Basic equipment would be a heater, filter/sump, protein skimmer, power heads, live/base rock (~1 lb per gallon), a salt mix, hydrometer/refractometer, and an aragonite based sand. Lights will depend on if you want to do a reef tank or not. Your stocking will also depend on if you want a reef tank.

Well im hoping to spend less than 500$ and most likely a reef setup just don't know what to get to get started i really don't plan on buying fish till the tank is up running and thriving wit benf bacteria and all just looking to get pointed in the right direction

Well im hoping to spend less than 500$ and most likely a reef setup just don't know what to get to get started i really don't plan on buying fish till the tank is up running and thriving wit benf bacteria and all just looking to get pointed in the right direction