New to the saltwater reef tank hobby.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ken680428

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been building and keeping freshwater tank for around 10 years. But I always wanted to try a saltwater tank. But everybody I asked about saltwater tanks said they were too expensive and that you need a 40 gallon or larger setup for it to work. I live in a small basement apartment and have no room or the budget for such a large setup.

Then I found out and researched about nano and pico setups. So I bought a Fluval Spec V 5 gallon tank and all the equipment and started my first nano saltwater reef tank. That was about 4 months ago and the tank is up and running and fully stocked and beautiful to look at.

After that successful nano setup, I had found a spare 2.5 gallon tank with heater and filter in my storage. So I bought the rest of the required equipment and set that up about 2 months ago and it is up and running and partially stocked.

Since that pico setup was successful, I bought a 1 gallon tank and all the required equipment and setup another pico reef tank setup. It is currently 1 week into the Nitrogen Cycle so it will be a while before I can stock it.

5 gallon nano setup:

- Fluval Spec V 5 gallon tank with it's built in filter system converted to a built in Refugium
- 4 watt Daylight LED Bulb for the built in Refugium
- Aqualife 50 watt heater
- Coralife Biocube in tank skimmer
- Coralife Biocube Powerhead
- Zoo-Med Digital Thermometer
- Current USA Orbit Marine 18"-24" Reef LED Lighting System
- Marina 0.8 gallon HOB Breeder Tank with a 85GPH Pond Pump used as a HOB Refugium
- Current USA 6 watt clamp on LED Lamp used for the HOB Refugium

2.5 gallon pico setup:

- PetSmart 2.5 gallon standard rectangular tank
- Zoo-Med Digital Thermometer