Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2005, 10:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
RO unit installed. Thoughts & pics

I decided to purchase an RO/DI unit. I had done the math and it will save me soooo much money in the long run, be on hand if I have an issue and a lot more convenient than driving to the LFS and stocking up and carrying 5gal containers upstairs every few weeks.

I went with filtersdirect on ebay (as per a recommendation from someone on this forum) and i was very pleased with them and the product. $90 + $20 shipping. I also picked up a 160gal bucket of Instant Ocean salt $43 shipped.

The install was simple, the only 3 things you need to really do that require any effort.

1. hang the unit. I used 2 dry wall anchors and screws.
2. (optional) drill a 1/4" hole in your pvc drain for the waste water to run out (the black thing around the PVC is what holds the hose in place that runs into the 1/4" hole.
3. decide how to want to get the water to the unit. I am going to use a faucet diverter, so that i can turn the water on to have it run normally or have it go directly to the RO/DI unit.

Thats about it. FYI, the blue hose is for the clean water, the black is for the waste water and the red is the inbound water from your sink/source.





Jim
__________________

__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 438
I bought that exact same unit and installed it last night. I am using the faucet adapter as well and am pretty happy with it. The one thing I was surprised about is the ratio of waste water to "pure" water. How much waster water is produced for 1 gallon of "good" water?
__________________

__________________
tripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Looks very nice! Do you have a container to run your filtered water into? I have mine running into a 30 gal. rubbermaid tub. Kent makes an auto-stop float valve that I installed on mine to turn the waer off automatically. Might be an option. Nice Job...kudos for getting a RO/DI unit!
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:13 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Lando, does the Kent float cut off any RO/DI unit?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
How much waster water is produced for 1 gallon of "good" water?
I think you use about 4-5gal of water to produce one gal of filter water. In the summer my waste water goes into buckets and I use it to water the flowers and bushes outside. In the winter, it pretty much goes down the drain.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:21 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Quote:
waste water goes into buckets and I use it to water the flowers and bushes outside
Never thought of that one. Good.

I'll give it to my wife for indoor plant waterings too in the winter.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
Lando, does the Kent float cut off any RO/DI unit?
I believe it will. There is a sensor that hooks up to the DI membrane and float valve that goes in the collection container.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 10:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
Lando, I believe you are correct about 4 gal of "waste" per every 1 gallon of pure water.

I was thinking of the float switch. I am using a 25 gal rubbermaid container but wasn't sure how the foat switch would "rig up". Would I just need the float valve and run it to the existing shut off on the RO/DI unit?

Here's a pic...
http://thatpetplace.com/images/p6696b.jpg

Thanks!
Jim
__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 11:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Just drill a hole in the tub and put the float on the inside. There is a bolt-like looking thing that sticks though the hole and ends up on the outside of the tub. This is what your water output line screws to. Let me know if you want pics.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2005, 11:25 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 468
Thanks Lando................so let me be sure I'm clear, the blue hose that delivers the clean water connects to the float valve and when the water triggers the float valve, it stops the RO/DI unit. Can you confirm this? If that's all there is to it, it's simple. I thought it had to tie back to the unit somewhere.

Thanks in advance for the good advice..........I'm sitting here anxiously awaiting my lr.com order............should be here by 12pm..........

I'll post pics when i get it.

Jim
__________________

__________________
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, pics, ro unit, stall, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I see the Light, MH Ballasts installed and fired up (pics) InfernoST DIY Projects 24 08-15-2009 04:20 PM
RO/DI Unit from FilterDirect - installed - now what?! BlueDolphin General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-22-2006 02:17 PM
Thoughts on an RO unit afilter General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 11-15-2005 02:36 PM
Update & PICS on inexpensive Ebay R/O unit! srgetz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-09-2004 01:41 PM
Thoughts on kH, dH(GH) & pH? DocBob Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 12-15-2002 09:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.