Any advice on livebearer babies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarah5775

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok, I am a total newbie. These are probably very stupid questions.

I want to breed my mollies and platys. I have three female platys (one male) and two female mollies (one pregnant) and I need advice on how to maximize the babys' chances. My one molly dropped a couple of weeks ago late one night and I was hoping that a few babies were hiding in the plants but none showed. The few times before that I put the pregnant fish in the breeder net and they miscarried. So that didnt' work.

Is there any way to tell exactly when a female molly or platy is going to give birth? Do they always do it at night? If I can catch them in the act I can scoop some fry into the breeding trap and save them (I know keeping fry in a breeding trap isn't the best but I am going to get a fry tank after Christmas - too much Xmas shopping to do now to afford one!)

I have a ton of java moss, and its all clumped on one side of the tank. I would say between a sixth and a fifth of the 29 gallon tank is full of java moss. Should I change its position- either let it float or anchor it down on the bottom spread out? Would some fry maybe be able to hide so I could scoop them out later? I also have two plastic petco 'baby saver' bushy plants, one floating and one anchored to the bottom.

So is there anything I can do? I have all these friends who want fish, and a lfs ready to give me credit for them, and no babies!

BTW- my other fish:

5 blackskirt tetras (longfin)
5 neon tetras
4 ottos
4 gold barbs
then the 4 platys and 2 mollies.

Thanks.