Betta New Breader

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

numbnuts

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I'm new to this whole breeding thing and have done my research. I was wondering why my female is avoiding my male. He hasn't attacked her, but in only how research said that it was okay as long as he isn't continually attacking and injuring her. Anyway my question is why might she be avoiding him? He is also being very sneaky.

She's probably not ready to breed. What kind of conditioning did you do beforehand? What's the breeding setup? How did you introduce them? Is he showing off, or stalking her?

I don't know what you mean by conditioning, but the tank is pretty big and the water is like 3 inches. I put the male in a bag because I did not have a big enough divider and then took him out. also had them meet before I put them in front of each other and both of their fins flared or something, and look interested in each other. and he is staking her. He also hasn't make a nest yet and I don't know how to get him to do that.

Your doing it wrong. The male has to make the nest in the tank as he sees her in a floating cup in his tank. The male has to have a nest prepared for the eggs. And your female should have lines or a line down the side of her to know she's carrying eggs. The male will kill her trying to breed the way your doing it for sure. You can use anything to float her as long as it's see through. I'd use a large vase. I recommend you do more research before hand.