Breeding Crystal Shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlueRaptor76

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have 2 10 gallon tanks currently. They both have a good sized colony of dwarf freshwater shrimp but I was hoping to get some crystal shrimp. I’ve been considering moving all of my dwarf shrimp into one for a separate tank of crystals but I have this system or a tank for specifically breeding certain shrimp together while the other one is for shrimp I’m planning on selling. Could crystals live with the shrimp I have now? And how difficult are they to breed? Currently my dwarf shrimp are making beautiful babies all the time but I’ve never worked with crystals before.
I’ve also heard of moss and other things that improve water quality for shrimp. Does any of that really work?

Assuming you have a variety of neocaridina sp. shrimp (cherry shrimp, blue velvet, <insert fancy marketing color>) currently?

They could probably live together successfully, but Crystal Shrimp prefer cooler waters for optimum breeding (low-mid 70s, I believe?).

Java moss is fantastic for shrimp tanks, it'll help soak up any excess nutrients in your water column (like any other live plant), but the way it grows provides lots of extra surface area for biofilm and hiding areas for shrimp. I've got a mat about the size of my head in my 40g tank and it's absolutely lousy with shrimplets, juveniles, and adults. I'll see adults and the occasional adventurous juvenile male elsewhere in the tank, but they really seem to prefer the moss! It is typically pretty carefree to grow, I'm generally taking cuttings into my LFS every month or two for about 15-30$ of store credit depending on the harvest:brows: