Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2012, 01:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
I've had 4 harlequin tetras for about a year, and they are showing very bright, absolutely beautiful orange/redness, I don't think I've seen any ones with color like this on the internet. I would love to breed them.

I have a 26 gallon planted, with high light. Amazon swords, java fern, water wisteria, rotala indica, crpyts
I also have driftwood in there.

My pH I believe is around 7.5, but I haven't checked in a while, il check soon and update. No ammonia, nitrites, or nitrates.

What should I do to get the rasboras to breed? I want to know everything I can do.
__________________

__________________
Icd1227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 01:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Sorry for saying harlequin tetras lol! It's been a long day.

Harquin rasboras*
__________________

__________________
Icd1227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:40 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Pm andy sager. He has bred lots of tetras and Rasboras before.
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 6,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icd1227 View Post
I've had 4 harlequin tetras for about a year, and they are showing very bright, absolutely beautiful orange/redness, I don't think I've seen any ones with color like this on the internet. I would love to breed them.

I have a 26 gallon planted, with high light. Amazon swords, java fern, water wisteria, rotala indica, crpyts
I also have driftwood in there.

My pH I believe is around 7.5, but I haven't checked in a while, il check soon and update. No ammonia, nitrites, or nitrates.

What should I do to get the rasboras to breed? I want to know everything I can do.
Rasbora hets usually breed in soft, acidic, medium warm water in lower light conditions. Temps: 76-78 degrees.
What's different about these fish is that unlike most tetras, these fish deposit eggs on the underside of a leaf as opposed to scattering them "willy nilly."
Check your PH and hardness and if necessary, gradually reduce the ph to approx. 6.3 to 6.4 and the hardness to 1-2. Make sure you have broad leafed plants that can handle low light (i.e. crypts). Once these conditions have been met, your chances of them breeding on their own rise tremendously. If they don't, I have other "tricks"

2 questions:
1: are you sure you have at least 1 male and 1 female? (Females usually have a rounder bottom from being swollen with eggs and a larger triangle.)

2: How are your plants doing with 0 nitrates? Plants need some nitrogen in the water for feeding so 0 doesn't sound too good.

Hope this helps
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
1) I'm positive, as far as I can tell I have two females and two males

2) I have no idea, I'm actually seeing crazy plant growth right now, il double check, maybe there is something wrong with the test
__________________
Icd1227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Thanks for the help!
__________________
Icd1227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 6,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icd1227 View Post
1) I'm positive, as far as I can tell I have two females and two males

2) I have no idea, I'm actually seeing crazy plant growth right now, il double check, maybe there is something wrong with the test

Yeah, I'd check the reagent. FYI: In the old days, the nitrate reagent in most test kits was the first to go bad.

It just goes against my thinking that the plants can be doing so well with 0 nitrogen. If it's true, I need to figure out what you are doing so I can do it in my garden outside. Just imagine, nitrogen free lettuce!!! lol

Keep us posted
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 34
Lol okay il letcha know
__________________

__________________
Icd1227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breed, breeding, harlequin, tetras

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×