Breeding mollies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kaitlyns17

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I'm new to the breeding world and I've heard that mollies are a relatively easy fish to breed. I was going to start out with Dalmatian mollies and I already ordered a fry tank for the pregnant mom if I manage to do this correctly. Is there a specific temperature needed and will my bristle nose pleco eat the fry once they're big enough to be introduced to the tank? Also what should I feed the fry?

Is a 10 gallon enough for a couple of mollies? Already have people who volunteered to take a couple of babies for their tanks and my school said they'll take the rest for their 100gal they're setting up soon so it won't be a permanent situation for the fry.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Hi I'm new to the breeding world and I've heard that mollies are a relatively easy fish to breed. I was going to start out with Dalmatian mollies and I already ordered a fry tank for the pregnant mom if I manage to do this correctly. Is there a specific temperature needed and will my bristle nose pleco eat the fry once they're big enough to be introduced to the tank? Also what should I feed the fry?

Is a 10 gallon enough for a couple of mollies? Already have people who volunteered to take a couple of babies for their tanks and my school said they'll take the rest for their 100gal they're setting up soon so it won't be a permanent situation for the fry.

I just keep my fry at the same temp as main tank. The bn catfish shouldn't be an issue, my small livebearers will cheerfully steal food from them. A 10gal seems a tad small imo - I prefer to keep say one male to 3 or 4 females to spread the attention around and end up with a small school. Perhaps guppies.

the fish should give birth to around 10-70 fry.
the temperature should be around 25-29 degrees.