Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-22-2014, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

catching mama fish

I am new to breeding ,and have a female that is pregnant and trying to catch her to put her into breeding tank . She looks pretty near term. I have been trying to catch her for over a hour and she is so smart !!. She hides inbetween all the ornaments and bushes.
I bought some guppies about a week and a half ago . and noticed two to look pregnant ,I did not know when they were due though since I did not know the breeding day. I looked at some info a few days ago about due dates and what they look like . The squared off body look was starting to be soon on the one ,but I thought she would have a bit more time to have them . She must have had them overnight, as today I was checking on her and I saw one little baby hiding in the tree. I caught him or her and put it in a breeder tank so the little one would not get eaten . I feel so bad the other babies were probably eaten . Any way have the other one that looks pretty ready so wanted to get her out into breeding tank but I have been chasing her for 45 minutes and cannot catch her she is so fast and smart !! she hides inbetween ornaments and the trees . . I tried feeding them having her come closer but she still got away . Anyone have any tricks of the trade here . Do not want her babies eaten !!

Old 07-22-2014, 04:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via Skype™ to Istrom
She will probably abort the babies if you do end up catching her, seeing how stressed she is.

-Istrom
Istrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 04:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict