Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2017, 11:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Co2 with german blue rams ??

Hello fellow fish freaks! I recently won a bid for a total of about 14 GBR with the intent of breeding. But I know these fish aren't very resilient to PH swings which can be brought on by the use of C02 which I would like to run for the tank as well to get them some plants growing for them. How do I ensure myself a stable PH? Injected CO2? Maybe liquid ferts? Any ideas would really be appreciated!!
__________________

__________________
jsmith21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
nirbhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan, Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,000
Tell us a bit about your tank. I've found that my pH is much more stable now that I have pressurized CO2.

Welcome to the forum, by the way.
__________________

__________________
nirbhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:07 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nirbhao View Post
Tell us a bit about your tank. I've found that my pH is much more stable now that I have pressurized CO2.

Welcome to the forum, by the way.


Thanks you!! And well I've got a newly cycled 125g fully planted Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0267.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	252.7 KB
ID:	294111

The tank has the fluval stratus substrate atleast 2 inch all the way around which should keep my ph at 6.8 but with the drift wood and C02 I'm having trouble keeping it up. Testing daily and have been getting 6.2-6.4 readings. Also mineralize water and have high light. Definitely high tech tank.

Next option is a 40 breeder I am using as a peacock grow out tank I can switch that to my breeder tank but would love to run a line of C02 if I could keep PH stable.
__________________
jsmith21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:10 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
nirbhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan, Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,000
Why do you want your pH higher than 6.4? Rams are very happy at that pH. What kind of minerals are you adding?
__________________
nirbhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nirbhao View Post
Why do you want your pH higher than 6.4? Rams are very happy at that pH. What kind of minerals are you adding?


I dose green leaf aquariums PPS pro system, micros and macros. But the breeder I am getting my fish from breeds them in hard water with a PH of 6.8-7.0
__________________
jsmith21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:13 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
nirbhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan, Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,000
Interesting. @CoralBandit breeds excellent rams. Maybe you could tug on his ear a bit.
__________________
nirbhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:16 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Will do thanks for the advice. And I ordered a pressurized regulator with solenoid timer really hoping this helps me stabilize.
__________________
jsmith21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 07:07 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,894
The effect co2 has on pH has no effect on fish.
I am interested in hard water rams!
For most it is hard water that does NOT allow the egg to be fertilized.
After that the water almost does not matter at all.
Rams really like an established tank, I really would not make them first fish to hit a tank unless they are the only fish !
Who is your breeder? Yunite? He often 'claims' hard water!
Good luck, thanks N!
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 09:05 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by coralbandit View Post
The effect co2 has on pH has no effect on fish.
I am interested in hard water rams!
For most it is hard water that does NOT allow the egg to be fertilized.
After that the water almost does not matter at all.
Rams really like an established tank, I really would not make them first fish to hit a tank unless they are the only fish !
Who is your breeder? Yunite? He often 'claims' hard water!
Good luck, thanks N!


He calls himself Fourc on aquabid, Klaus is his name, he's got some great reviews so I trust him. But interesting.. so if I've got a 7.2 reading then put my c02 in and it drops to 6.4 they won't be affected by the swing in PH?
__________________
jsmith21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 09:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,894
Fourc has nice looking fish!
You did better with him then yunite IMO!
Ph is smoke!
It is all about gH and TDS.
If your water is hard the eggs my not be able to be fertilized.
Only a couple pair of mine that are my offspring have ever breed and hatched eggs in tap.
He wasn't auctioning 14 rams so how did you all come up with that number?
What do you know about breeding and breeding rams?
They lay easy and raise hard.
I am interested in following you and helping or learning.
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blue, blue ram, blue rams, co2, german blue ram, german blue rams, ram, rams

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Bolivian Rams be kept in a tank with German Blue Rams? jacpaq2000 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-11-2015 04:46 PM
German blue rams and Bolivian rams cstar Cichlid Discussion 2 05-18-2014 05:19 PM
stocking suggestions. german blue rams/bolivian rams laur94x Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 01-31-2013 04:07 AM
How to breed German Blue Rams and Gernan Gold Rams? emerald76 Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 1 06-09-2012 04:42 PM
German Blue Rams and Bolivian Rams together...? Coozle Cichlid Discussion 9 05-13-2011 10:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.