First time breedig fancy goldfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Matt68005

Aquarium Advice Addict
I just Hand breed my Big Black moor with a Female Calico.....my first attempt. Couldnt believe how easy it was, they came right out. Anything special i need to do with the eggs? Their in a cermanic shallow white bowl (like for eating out of about 2.5 inches of their tank water) the tank was treated with primafix a few days ago, so im thinking no fungus problems on the eggs, gonna be warm until sunday, their in front of a west window with curtains (the kind you turn up or down with the rod) is it okay for the eggs to get some sunlight? Air temp in the house today is about 72 but its suppose to get up to mid 70s today outside so i imagine it will be perfect temp for them to hatch and no fungus problems, is the filtered sun good or bad?
Its my first attempt, and i couldnt believe how easy it was. He was chasing her around and i knew it was time. I have to say i think they babies are gonna be kinda ugly, as she is a white with black spots calico and he is a black moor...lol gonna be "dalmation" goldfish. lol

Did the male fertilize the eggs? Are the eggs clear/translucent or opaque? If they have not hatched yet, they are likely not viable.

Yeah i handbred them when he was chasing her. Shes pretty big and was picking at plants and being receptive one warm spring day. I released the males sperm into a shallow wide ceramic bowl with about 2 inches of tank water (there was alot) and then released the females eggs (around 75) and stirred them together and let it sit next to a partially sunny window. Nothing happened. They are not any bigger and are brown, so i guess fungus got to them or something else went wrong?