GBR Laying Eggs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ksfishguy

Aquarium Advice Freak
I purchased a male and female GBR a few weeks ago and put them in my community tank. The female is now laying eggs! I have no experience in breeding these fish (or any for that matter). I only have one tank and it is full of fish including angels. Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated!

GBR's are the hardest to raise. The parents will probably eat the eggs unless you removed them to their own tank. Getting them to spawn is simple, but hatching the eggs and raising the fry isn't so easy. You'd first need another tank, loke a 5G or 10G tank, with heater and filter, and preferably glass bottom.

Do you think glass is the best? That is what I had, and mine didn't make it, but I know I probably have something other problem than the substrate. I then switched to pool filter sand and those didn't make it either. But when I see fish that are in breeder tanks, the bottom is bare. Why is this exactly? I put the sand in mine so that they could have a break from the current from the filter and hide in the little nooks and crannies.

The tanks are left bare so they're easier to clean. Depending on the fish, you might need to pick out bad eggs yourself or medicate the tank. Substrate tends to soak up some meds and makes it a serious pain to find itty bitty fishies.

With baby fish water quality is a huge issue for survival. Not getting sucked up into a siphon during a water change is the other, so visibility is a must.

Yeah but I believe LWB and myself both opt to NOT do water changes with the fry when they are very young. I believe he lost quite a few of them because of a PWC.