Guppy males, birthing mamas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SandyCheeks

Aquarium Advice Freak
Being a newbie I thought some tough little guppies would be a good way to start, that they would be able to handle my goof-ups. So I got a 20 gal tank and cycled it. Then we got 5 guppies (I thought they were all males, my bad) 2 apple snails and 2 ghost shrimp. After 6 weeks we now have added 7 juveniles and 13 newborns to the family.

The first batch Of babies came in the middle of the night, from the bigger female. Last week I noticed another female was pregnant so I got a birthing box that floats inside. When I saw a fry in the tank yesterday, I plopped the pregnant mama in it. She hated it! Poor thing was stressed. But I left her in there overnight, thinking she might have more at night but no new babies come morning. I put her back in the main tank and she started birthing again. And then the 2 males would hound her and poke her hard where the babies come out. Ouch! Is that normal? I felt bad for her, but did not know what to do. She would have a baby tail coming out and the boys would not leave her alone. I know it's just nature but goodness. :(

Ok then cut a divider out of plastic and separated the males. ALL of them freaked out. They all wanted to get to the other side! One male sqeezed in between the glass and plastic, the large female started chasing the small one, and the pregnant female got sucked over the top (the surprised look on her face was priceless, I had to laugh.) Removed the dumb divider and just left her. She had 13 more babies that I found. I caught them and plopped them in the box.

What do you find is the best way for the mamas to give birth?