Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-07-2011, 02:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Harlequin Rasbora breeding? :)

I have had 6 Harlequin Rasbora's for about 1 month now, and 2 of the 6 have really rounded bellies. To me it looks like they're bearing eggs but I'm no expert! the other fish in the tank are in my signature the temperature is 24 degree C and the stats are ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate 10. If they do lay eggs and a male fertilizes them what do i do? I have a spare 3.5 gallon tank i could move the eggs to because i don't want them to be eaten! (That is of course assuming they are egg bound and they do lay eggs!)

Please help me!

Old 10-07-2011, 05:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Anyone with experience breeding Harlequins?

Old 10-07-2011, 06:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Albiman
Anyone with experience breeding Harlequins?
Do u know how to sex them???
Old 10-07-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I know the females are larger than the males, so I'm guessing i have 3 males 3 females and 2 of the females look egg bound. The largest most colourful one doesn't look egg bound
Old 10-08-2011, 08:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic

No one seems to know :L
Old 10-08-2011, 01:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Someone please help?!
Old 10-08-2011, 02:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak

I have Harlequin Rasboras as well, and when i first got them, one of the Females laid eggs underneath the leaves of my amazon sword. However the eggs didin't list due to my rather high PH (7.4). If your PH is like that, then the Eggs will be destroyed pretty quickly.
Old 10-08-2011, 06:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic

My pH is at 6.6, is this okay for the eggs?
Old 10-09-2011, 12:54 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak