Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-13-2013, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

How Close is My Guppy to Giving Birth?

While watching my pregnant Swordtail, I noticed my Guppy is ready to have babies and it looks like real soon, but I'm no expert. Can't believe I missed that! She's huge. Can someone tell from the photos how soon it will be before she gives birth so I can watch her? Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1753.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	227.8 KB
ID:	167197   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1746.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	256.2 KB
ID:	167198  

Name:	IMG_1733.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	248.8 KB
ID:	167199   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1732.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	249.6 KB
ID:	167200  

Old 04-13-2013, 05:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by trustemedia View Post
While watching my pregnant Swordtail, I noticed my Guppy is ready to have babies and it looks like real soon, but I'm no expert. Can't believe I missed that! She's huge. Can someone tell from the photos how soon it will be before she gives birth so I can watch her? Thank you.
Hey, she looks like she's starting to square off but is still a bit round. I would guess about a wk, maybe less. It's quite hard to say but when she stops eating, I find that it's usually about 3-4 days after that....

Old 04-13-2013, 06:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Thank you! I will keep an eye out for that for sure!
Old 04-17-2013, 08:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Pregnant Guppy