I'M GONNA HAVE BABIE CRABS!!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

William

Aquarium Advice Addict
My little male crab [ the one that killed my dwarf frog ] and one of the female crabs are embracing right now and mating!

OMFG! Their doing it right here infront of me! i was wondering why the little male was riding around ontop of the female for such a long time..

OMFG! Crab babies!

What do I do to prepare for it? How long after mating does the female create eggs and they hatch? how should I prepare my tank?

So many questions! my heart is racing! OMFG!!!

I cannot help you at all, for I know nothing about crab babies, but I do congratulate you! That is amazing!!!! Please, take pics of every step so we can see, and good luck!

OH! How cool! Little baby crabs! I wish I could help you, William. But as you are aware, I'm new to this whole thing. I will be elated to share this exciting experience with you through your posts though! Thanks for sharing!

I'm sure someone with experience with these little guys will help you out. :)

I've never had crabs mate before.. This is so fricken cool!

The male [ which is half hte siez of the female at the moment ] was just riding on top of the female for about 45 minutes while the female walked around and foraged algae off a new peice of driftwood I recently got.

Then the next thing I knew they had their backs to me, their underbelly flaps were open and you could tell they were obviously in some kind of embrace.

God this is so awesome! :D

Sorry to say this william, but fiddler crabs "mate" in the home aquarium but don't actually breed. The female can be seen with eggs, but they never hatch. That's why they aren't usually very abudant in the hobby. They also need mud burrows to house the young.