I'm New to this, and my Platy Fish is pregnant.... I think

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChristineO

Aquarium Advice Regular
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1397086934.760108.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1397086950.177273.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1397086962.626065.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1397086975.458468.jpg

Here's my Platy, I think she is pregnant. However, I have no clue how far along she is, if there are any special things I should be doing to keep her happy and not stressed. If someone could help me out that would be greatly appreciated :)

Also, I've seen on some sites that you should in more live plants for the fry to have a place to hide.... Um I am not sure how valid this is... If someone could help me that'd be great. :)

Yes, she looks pregnant. Give her one more week, then she looks like she will drop. If you keep the fry with your adult fish, they will defiantly try to eat the fry, and that's why people recommend live plants for them to hide in. They also just like it if they're in their own tank. It's not something that you have to have

Live plants are good, they provide hiding spots and starter food for the little ones. Also, gravel substrate can help them survive as well. When they are first born, they can hide in between the gravel and find any food that hasn't been removed since your last vacuuming.

Good luck and have fun!

If I keep them in a separate tank....do I have to have a filter for it? For the fry I mean.... Cause I've seen videos where they keep them in like buckets an just do frequent water changes......
Does anyone know how many fry they'll drop for their first time? Or is it different every time....what colour are they gonna be?

Hello Christine...