Is my guppy pregnant?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lornajane89

Aquarium Advice Freak
I thought she was but im no expert. Please see attached pics. Thanks

Dean

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20110911_085242.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110911_085242.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 78
  • ForumRunner_20110911_085257.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110911_085257.jpg
    60.2 KB · Views: 94
  • ForumRunner_20110911_085325.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110911_085325.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 91
  • ForumRunner_20110911_085427.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110911_085427.jpg
    63 KB · Views: 87
  • ForumRunner_20110911_085515.jpg
    ForumRunner_20110911_085515.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 93
Thanks for the reply. Shes currently in the community tank with loaches, dwarf gouramis and juli catfish should i get a seperate tank set up for the fry and birth or a hatchery they sell them for £10 at the lfs. I do have plants and caves for them to hide but id like it if they didnt all get eaten

Gouramis, though usually docile, will pick the babies off (as well as the adult guppies who don't have very good maternal instincts!). Your best bet is to get a trap if you want to keep some alive. She does look pregnant but dropping can be quite spontaneous IME.

Your other option is to let her give birth freely which would save the stress but your mortality rate could be quite high. If you have plenty of bushy plants and hiding spaces you may get a few survive. Let me know what you decide to do and I will try and give you best advice!

We have bought a hatchery to seperate her. Should we put her in immediatley or wait longer? We were also looking for a small tank to put the fry in but found breeder nets. We got 2 just in case. Do u rrcommend these nets or are they a bad idea.

Thanks