New here!! Need help guppies and platys

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GorJess

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys this is my first time on here and I would like some help please!!I have just purchased over the last week, 4 female guppies 2 males, 2 female platys and 1 male.
Now I am actually going to breed them as feeding fish for my axelotl and to show my 3 year old son about reproduction.
Now the fish I purchased today (platy) is extremely fat and has a very dark spot on her belly so I know she is pregnant. I have taken her home and put her straight in the breeding box/net. Is that the right the thing???
I have heaps of plants and a ornament they can hide in but I really want to save the fry. Now how do I know when she is due? Have I maybe put her in too early??

First of all, welcome to AA!

A platy will have a very squared belly when they are about to give birth, when it is there, that is the right time to put it in the box
If you put her too soon, she will get too stressed and die, if you could put a pic up I would be more than happy to tell you if it is the right time
Welcome to AA!

She is getting close not sure if she is quite ready. Are the other fish chasing her around?

She is getting close not sure if she is quite ready. Are the other fish chasing her around?

Yes one of the males has been chasing her. She keeps hanging at the bottom of the rack near the plants. But wen I wake up she's still pregges! I tried to put her in a breeding box but I can't catch her!!
I bought a new male guppy today and a really pregnant platy and after a few hours my male platy that I've had for a week was dead and at the bottom of the tank!!

Ok what about the dead one?? What happened there?
And I can't catch her.. As soon as i put net in she swims for high heaven ..

Ok what about the dead one?? What happened there?