New to Breeding Mollies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CatcherQueen

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. I am very new to mollies, since the I purchased my first few today. I had tried breeding guppies and even though I had bought pregnant ones, they all died before they dropped fry. Anyways, today I purchased 1 female silver molly, 1 male black molly, 1 pregnant balloon molly, and 1 male balloon molly. The pregnant balloon molly is huge, but I don't know when she'll drop the fry. I have noticed her isolating herself in some parts of the tank, but I'm afraid of putting her in my breeder net. (I had put a pregnant guppy in it for 1 night and she died the next day.)

Any advice on what to do will be greatly appreciated! Hopefully I can get a picture of her posted sometime soon for anyone to see.

In my community tank I have: the 4 mollies, 1 pregnant guppy, a frog, and 3 cleaner fish.

Thanks!!

First, what size tank? Regardless of size the decor will either allow the fry to hide or provide an early lunch for your other fish. For a quick, cheap and easy temp way to help the fry survive, just tie a few placstic plants together and float them pointing straight down. The tiny plastic forest will give them some cover. If you want to get really tricky, put some on the bottom like normal and attach the floaters to the tops of the floor plants. Use can use fishing line.

With Livebearers you typically want several females and only one or two males. Otherwise the males may harass the females to death.

Or set up a holding tank to pull the males, to give the females a break.