Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-12-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Platy Question

I have a question about my female platy that i have in my tank. I know that if pregnant, the babies are supposed to drop within a month. But this platy that i have is HUGE and shese been this way for the past 3 months. now im not an expert, but i think something may be wrong. there is only 1 other male platy in there with her and some female mollies but nobody seems to bother her, the water is fine because i havent had a death in almost a year, and im not overfeeding because she is the only one that is fat! she was normal sized when i got her then she ballooned up. is she even pregnant? if anybody has any info or help id be happy to hear from you

Old 03-12-2010, 06:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

got a picture of her? when you say ballooned up, do you mean she looks like a balloon molly or something like that? Dont assume your water is fine because none of your fish have died... Might be worth testing, though i seriously doubt jacked up water parameters would cause bloating... BTW, welcome to AA

EDIT: forgot about dropsy, thanks Jamie

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 06:33 PM   #3
Great white snark

Tank of the Month Award

Welcome to AA.

And I second mfd on the water testing.

If you look at her from the top does she look like a pine cone? If so, then it might be dropsy, which is an indicator of bad water conditions. Of course, a picture would really help.

AA ToS