Platy Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arrynyo

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a question about my female platy that i have in my tank. I know that if pregnant, the babies are supposed to drop within a month. But this platy that i have is HUGE and shese been this way for the past 3 months. now im not an expert, but i think something may be wrong. there is only 1 other male platy in there with her and some female mollies but nobody seems to bother her, the water is fine because i havent had a death in almost a year, and im not overfeeding because she is the only one that is fat! she was normal sized when i got her then she ballooned up. is she even pregnant? if anybody has any info or help id be happy to hear from you

got a picture of her? when you say ballooned up, do you mean she looks like a balloon molly or something like that? Dont assume your water is fine because none of your fish have died... Might be worth testing, though i seriously doubt jacked up water parameters would cause bloating... BTW, welcome to AA :)

EDIT: forgot about dropsy, thanks Jamie ;)

Last edited:
Welcome to AA.

And I second mfd on the water testing.

If you look at her from the top does she look like a pine cone? If so, then it might be dropsy, which is an indicator of bad water conditions. Of course, a picture would really help.

platy questions pics

here are the pics of her. like i said shes been like this for the longest with no fluctuations in her size, i just cant pin it down...

Attachments

• newpics31210 021.jpg
    newpics31210 021.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 60
  • newpics31210 022.jpg
    newpics31210 022.jpg
    59.3 KB · Views: 58
  • newpics31210 023.jpg
    newpics31210 023.jpg
    61.9 KB · Views: 65