Platy ready to be moved to breeding tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ltilden

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! Okay so I am very new at this so sorry if I seem uninformed or naive or whatever. So basically I bought two platys a couple of months ago, and just recently I noticed that the silver mickey mouse one was chasing around the yellow one. The next day I looked at my yellow one and noticed that she had large red spots on her belly and her belly was pretty big (I have no idea why I didnt notice it ealier!!) Im like 99% sure she's pregnant, but what I'm not sure of is when she should be moved into the floating breeding tank. I put her in there because from what I have read from other sites/forums I think she may be ready to go soon (and I was able to get a better picture of her, which I attached to this post!!) Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
smiley.gif

I have gone through this once before, with my two jewel cichilids, but unfortunately the babies were hatched right around the time I was moving out of my dorm, and the move didnt go very well. The male ended up killing the mother and all the babies when I finally got them home
sad.gif
Im hoping this time to have better results!

Attachments

• IMG_06931.jpg
    IMG_06931.jpg
    201.1 KB · Views: 57
  • IMG_06941.jpg
    IMG_06941.jpg
    199.8 KB · Views: 59