Pregnant Guppy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Esimone

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all,

In regards to the picture attached (sorry it's not the best) how long do you think this guppy has until she gives birth? Her gravid spot is black and she's looking boxy, but it's my first time dealing with this. I had one guppy give birth last night I think and result in consumed fry because her gravid spot is gone for I want to prevent that. I apologize for the fecal matter in the photo.
Thanks!

Attachments

• image-2601028959.jpg
    image-2601028959.jpg
    149.5 KB · Views: 91
  • image-445696934.jpg
    image-445696934.jpg
    138.1 KB · Views: 86
She's got several weeks. Don't put her in a breeder box or anything yet. Black means she is pregnant, gold-pinks and she is close, boxy means any day now.

Thanks! I just put her in for a good picture then let her out. I will keep an eye on it.

This is my guppy this morning she has been pregnant for about 5 weeks now and has looked like this for a week now.

image-350559275.jpg

image-717274321.jpg

image-1626523025.jpg

This is my guppy this morning she has been pregnant for about 5 weeks now and has looked like this for a week now.

Hippies usually only go 3-4 weeks. She may be holding off dropping because the water condition isn't right. Just a thought

Oh my goodness auto correct! D: that's supposed to say GUPPIES not hippies :p

As I recall fancy guppy breeding cycles are evry 9wks. Beware as sister and brother can mate with little genetic hangup. They breed like rabbits.