pregnant or bloated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fxbillie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am a newbie to this forum trying to learn from the pros. Can some one tell me how to tell if a female fish is pregnant or getting bloated as a disease? I have many guppy females and some swordtail & plattiies showing large abdomen, but some will die instead of giving babies. If I can spot the bloated condition faster, perhaps I can treat the fish. Any idea?

If you could post some pictures that would help.

How much do you feed your fish? What are the water parameters (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH)? How long has the tank been set up? How often do you do partial water changes?

You will see a gravid spot if they are pregnant. If they are bloated, you can try feeding them boiled, de-shelled peas.

You will see a gravid spot if they are pregnant. If they are bloated, you can try feeding them boiled, de-shelled peas.

Is the gravid spot a darkend spot near the anal area?

By peas, do you mean frozen peas from a package and boil them? Great simple idea if this works instead of more medicine to the tank. By the way, dkpate, thanks for the great advice about eliminating ick with 86F temp. It works and my tank is now ick free. Do I lower the temperature now?

My 55 gal tank is about 3 months old but I move all the wet gravel plus 70% of the water from a 30 gal tank. So I hope it has good bacteria in there. I am not sure about the PH and nitrite reading. I change 25 - 30% water each week. The fish may be a bit over-fed. I may need to cut back on them. Thanks.

Yes, that is what the gravid spot is. :)